Activation Completed

Next Steps:

Woo! You’ve accomplished the most difficult part of using ActivTrak!

If you’ve had activity on the monitored workstation since your agent was installed, double check your screenshots page to see if you’ve received anything yet.

Here’s a quick video tour showing you how to use the screenshots page.

If you’re sure you’ve had activity on the workstation but aren’t seeing any screenshots, please let us know here.

Settings:

Now that you have some data coming your way, you want to configure some settings!

You’ll use settings to:

Scheduling:

First, you’ll want to set your scheduled monitoring hours so that you don’t collect unnecessary information outside of the work day.

To set monitoring hours, navigate to Settings > Scheduling.

From there, click ‘+Add new schedule’ to create a schedule with your desired monitoring hours. Drag the blue overlay to cover the hours when ActivTrak should be monitoring the workstation, then name it and save it.

Next, assign the schedule to the appropriate users and workstations by clicking the ‘Assign’ button next to the schedule, then clicking the checkbox next to each user/computer on that schedule.

This short video demonstrates the whole process:

 

Categories & Productivity:

After you’ve set your schedule, you can classify websites and applications by their productive value, and label each as productive or unproductive. Both types of categories are essential to ensuring your reports make sense.

First, there’s an activity category that can be assigned by navigating to Settings > Categories. The activity category allows you to categorize the type of activity that the website or application represents, such as email, social media, document writing, or anything else you’d like to label an activity.

To assign activity categories, simply check the box next to the website or application, then select your target category from the drop down at the top of the page. You should see changes reflected immediately.

You can add as many custom activity categories as you like by clicking the ‘options’ button. This is also where you’ll add a new website or application manually.

The productive value can be assigned in Settings > Productivity. This categorization is pretty self-explanatory and tells you whether the activity was productive or unproductive.

To assign the productivity value, simply select the checkbox next to the website or application you’d like to manipulate, and click the button for the appropriate productive value at the top of the page. You should see changes reflected immediately.

This short video goes over each type of categorization:

 

Time zone:

You’ll want to configure your time zone to ensure the time on your schedules, screenshots and reports match to your current time zone. No matter what time zone your agent is located, ActivTrak will convert everything to your configured time zone.

To set your time zone, simply select your UTC time zone from the drop-down menu labeled ‘Time Zone.’

You can also configure your date format (MM/DD/YYY vs. DD/MM/YYYY) from the time zone page. Simply select your preferred format from the drop-down labeled ‘Date format.’

Groups:

Groups allow you to group monitored workstations together and segment data any way you’d like, as you can filter by groups in each report. Each workstation in a group can be still accessed and viewed individually, but groups allow you to aggregate, segment and analyze specific clusters of data together. The most common use we see for using groups is when a company would like to group different departments together, the grant access to the department manager.

To create a group, click the ‘add new group’ button, then input a name for your group. After that, simply select the group you created and click the ‘add/remove users’ button on the top-right side of the page. Check the boxes next to the users/computers you want in your group, then click save.

This tutorial shows you how to create groups, then add users to it:

 

Access:

The Access page lets ActivTrak administrators grant access to their ActivTrak dashboard to other individuals. This can be used to let employee view their productivity data, to grant access to other managers that need to see ActivTrak data, or any other use you see fit. You can grant ‘view-only’ access, then assign ‘viewable groups’  that limit the data each user can view, or you may choose to grant administrator access, which gives the new user full access to all ActivTrak settings and data.

To add a new user, click the green ‘New User’ button at the top of the page, then input their email and create a password for them. To grant administrator privileges, leave the box that says ‘Is Admin’ checked when adding your new user. Don’t forget to uncheck that box if you’d like to grant view-only access to the new user. Assign viewable groups by clicking the box that appears on the right side of the page for non-admins after their profile as been saved.

This short video walks you through the process of granting access to a new user:

 

Alias:

The Alias page is used to simply change the viewable name of a computer. When the agent is installed on a computer, it shows the registered name of the computer on all associated computer data. The registered name can be anything from ‘John’s iMac’ to ‘APC-3423’ depending on how the computer was setup, and who did it. An alias doesn’t change any of that, only the name that appears for the computer in you ActivTrak dashboard and reports so it’s easier to associate data with the actual user, rather than a computer name, which may or may not make sense to you.

To create an Alias, simply go to Settings > Alias, then click into the 3rd column to the right of the computer name you want to manipulate. After you click into the box, a cursor will appear and you can input the alias name, then click ‘Save Changes’ at the top of the table.

This video walks you through the process:

 

Storage:

The Storage page can be used to view which computers have agents installed, the version of the installed agents, the status of those agents (when they last reported a log record or screenshot), your current total storage amount, the numerical amount of logs recorded, screenshots taken, and GB stored for each individual agent, and deleting data.

You can delete individual agent data by clicking the delete button to the right of each agent, however, the agent will continue to report to your account unless it’s uninstalled from that workstation. This button can be used to clear out an old dataset, and begin monitoring (on the same workstation) with a clean dataset. You can also perform this action in bulk by selecting each agent, and clicking the red ‘delete selected’ button on the top-right corner of the table.

You can delete all recorded data in your account by clicking the ‘delete all logs and screenshots’ button to the right of ‘delete selected.’ It’s important to note that this action can never be undone, so don’t do this unless you’re absolutely sure you have seen or exported all of the data you need.

Change Password:

The ‘Change Password’ tab is used to change the password of the current logged in user. Simply enter your current password, then your new one twice, and click save to change your password.

Getting started is easy. Be up and running in minutes

Free Signup