Activity Categorization

ActivTrak lets users categorize all computer activity (website and applications) as either productive or unproductive. This gives administrators the power to determine what qualifies as productive or unproductive and allows ActivTrak understand how to and where to show the usage data. You can also create and assign an activity type, which makes your reports easier to read and provides more insight on what kind of activity the website or applicaiton represents, such as Email, Social Networking, or anything else you’d like.



Users will be helpful for you if you plan on allowing anyone else to view or manage your productivity data.

Additional users can be added as administrators, or general users. Administrators have full access to change or delete anything within ActivTrak, whereas users cannot delete anything, and can be restricted to certain “viewable groups” to ensure they only view data they’re intended to see.

General User additions can be assigned to anyone that you’d like to let see the productivity data captured by ActivTrak. Users have the ability to view dashboards, export reports, get email alerts, and have limited access to settings. Users can be set to view all productivity data, or they can be assigned specific “viewable groups,” which are created by administrators.


General users are best if you’d like to let your team view their productivity data, or if you’d like to let managers in different departments view the productivity of their team.

We recommend granting administrative rights only to those setting up ActivTrak, or managing one of your created Groups, as administrators have full control of ActivTrak, including the ability to create new alarms, change any current settings, or delete users and usage data.


Your storage is used to store screenshots, logs, and other usage data associated with your ActivTrak account.

With a free account, your storage limit is 3 GB. After you surpass that limit, all incoming screenshots will still be collected, but will not be viewable in reports. For unlimited storage you can upgrade to any paid plan!


You can create groups from both user names (e.g. Login ID John345) and devices (e.g. John’s Macbook3456) individually. Once created, administrators can filter all reports and productivity data by group.

Groups are useful in many situations, for instance:

If each employee has multiple devices, say a desktop and laptop computer per employee. Using groups, you could allow your team to view everyone’s productivity data in their department’s from desktop computers, but keep the laptop usage data private. In this instance, you would simply create a group of the desktop computer devices, create individual User accounts for each team member, and add your newly created group to each user’s “Viewable Groups,” which will filter all data visible to each user to include only that group.


If you’d like to show your employees all of their data, just create a group with both devices, or only their login name (if they are the same login name across all devices), or all three.

Groups are very versatile, and can be extremely useful in helping you segment your data. Data segmentation is critical to understanding the finer points of your productivity, such as which users are performing the best, which applications are being used most by what department department, and much, much more.


Aliases let you change the viewable name of a user.

This can be useful if you’d like to make the name of your users more easily identifiable. Often, we find that some usernames are rather arbitrary, and not always representative of the actual user, if not unidentifiable. 


For this reason, ActivTrak allows Aliases to be assigned to any individual. If you have users that have more than one login account each, you can input the same alias on each account to composite all usage data under that one alias. This eliminates the need to create a Group for each user with all of their linked accounts, which is a much more time-consuming way to achieve this goal.

Simply navigate to the aliases page, find the user you’d like to re-name, and enter the new name in the third column. Click save changes, and you’re all set!